partial world map highlighting Inter-European countries

The Inter-European Division (EUD) oversees the work of the Seventh-day Adventist Church in 20 countries across Central, Western, Southern and Eastern Europe. Its headquarters is located in Berne, Switzerland.

This territory was the destination of the denomination’s first overseas missionary. John Nevins Andrews came to Basel, Switzerland, in 1874 from the United States. His dedication to the publishing ministry had a strong impact on early believers and sympathizers, and led to the spreading of the Seventh-day Adventist Church throughout Europe.

Today, the division territory has a population of nearly 340 million people, among them some 180,000 Adventist Church members.

The Adventist church operates 8 tertiary level institutions in this territory: Bogenhofen Seminary (Austria);  Adventus University Cernica (Romania); Adventist University of France (Collonges); Friedensau Adventist University (Germany); Spanish Adventist College (Sagunto); Czecho-Slovakian Union Adventist Theological Institute (Sazava); Bulgarian Theological Seminary (Sofia); Italian Adventist University Villa Aurora (Florence).

Besides these 8 institutions, the Adventist church runs 36 Elementary schools, 22 Secondary schools and 3 Work-training schools (Nursing schools).

EUD operates two hospitals in its region: Waldfriede Hospital in Berlin, Germany and Lake Geneva Sanitarium in Switzerland.

The church’s operations here is conducted in 12 major languages, as well as additional local dialects.

The division operates 11 publishing houses producing books, magazines and electronic media in 30 languages. The Adventist Church also ministers through the Internet, Hope Channel television, Adventist World Radio and various Bible correspondence schools. The division operates media production centers in Bulgaria, the Czech Republic, France, Germany, Italy and Romania.